< > [ Beginning - End - Random - Notes - Email ]
2012-10-29 - 9:42 a.m.

Part Four of The story of San Diego leading into I now live in Taiwan

At the beginning it was super fun and no responsibilities. Then slowly I kept getting more and more responsibilities. As people would leave I would take their jobs, moving on up.

Eventually the manager asked me to train for the front office. The girl who was to train me is the owner's niece.. she's been there longer than anyone. In a story that the manager would love to tell again and again: after the first day of training he asked her how I did, and she said really well. He said, "but he's drunk!" And she replied, "He does better drunk than anyone else does sober." This is not a good story or a bad story, but it is a story.

So that means more responsibility, more structure and less fun time. Then we get a new reservation system for the computers, so I'm the expert suddenly. The one that everybody has to ask their questions to. More responsibility and less fun time. At this point I'm doing two 24-hour shifts at the desk each week, and this on top of all our activities.

The girl from Sweden comes back with a friend, and I take a good time off to actually be free for her. Later I go to Europe again, and yes she comes to visit me while I'm in Berlin. So since the first time I met her it was a six month gap, then another seven months, then ten months. What could anybody do with something like that?

[ Who - Whom - Old - Host ]
Life goes easy on me most of the time