< > [ Beginning - End - Random - Notes - Email ]
2012-10-27 - 6:12 p.m.

Part Three of The story of San Diego leading into I now live in Taiwan

Everybody has those dreams. Those 'what would you do if money was no object' dreams. Almost every single person lives their life based on an idea I believe best defined within Maslow's hierarchy of needs.

People do what they do because they need something.

You get a job to provide food and shelter for yourself and those you care for. That is and should be the entire reason. Money was invented as a go-between, and that's all it is. It is not a purpose in and of itself, it should not be respected or worshipped. It is only a simple way to 'save' the value you give to the world so you can recieve something you need in the future.

So many people think that obtaining the most money is the goal. As if money equals points on the scoreboard of life. Not only is this ridiculous on face but actually defeats the foundation of capitalism1. Really there is absolutely no reason to earn the 'money high score'. Find any Mario Bros video game and you'll find some random 'loophole' that allows you to collect lives over and over again. Yeah, it's cool for the first few lives but what is the ultimate point? Compare the game to the real financial world and consider life as a literal term. Everybody is playing the game and everybody needs at least one 'life' to play, and some people find that loophole to keep gaining them2. Having two or three extra lives in reserve is preferred, but having a thousand extra lives? What the F is the point of that?

What are you looking for with your job? Money. Why? Food, water, shelter, security. And what then? Once you have those things what are you going to do?

The entire point of this is that one question -- 'what would you do if money was no object?' How many people in this world would answer, "Well I guess I'd move to the beach somewhere. Somewhere I could relax and just enjoy life." So what am I supposed to do when I find myself in the life so many people dream about?

And yet.. here comes this girl. A year later, after I've become jaded and used to having without loving.

She has a boyfriend when I meet her. And when she leaves she tells me that he is traveling America also, and will be coming to stay at our hostel in a few weeks. Obviously I am supposed to use discretion.

When he is there I don't make any special notice of him, no more than I give everybody else. But I tease him, as I would tease anybody passing through. I ask him how often he shaves his beard. I ask him if he likes being hairy. I ask him if his girlfriend likes him being hairy. I ask him if he's sure.

And thus was born my first trip to Europe. Near the end of 2010, five months after I met her, I needed to see more.

1If you want more on this, let me know! I love actually having something to talk about.
2Some people will debate the usage of the word 'loophole' here. See point 1.

[ Who - Whom - Old - Host ]
Take my thoughts for what they're worth