< > [ Beginning - End - Random - Notes - Email ]
2007-01-11 - 2:33 p.m.

The current trick used by spammers to get their sales pitch into your inbox is to surround it by paragraphs of random words. Each e-mail is individually crafted by a program throwing together words out of the dictionary.

A million monkeys typing would produce shakespeare, and they don't even know words.

A million e-mails, picking from words already set up, would create personalized messages. Love letters, hate mail, and letters to the editor, and nobody would ever know except for the recipient. How many junk mail folders are clogged with new children's stories and offbeat poetry?

Eventually, you'll get an e-mail that goes: "Hey there. I know we haven't talked in a while. Three years at least, right? I just wanted you to know that I still think about you. B.-U-.Y P3N!5 P1LL5 N0W! I don't want you to feel bad for what happened. I know you think it was your fault that I broke up with you. I'm sorry I let you think that. It wasn't. I was going through a rough time, and I didn't want to disappoint you with my sadness. You were about to graduate, and I didn't want the last weeks we spent together tainted by my depression, so I told you I wanted to break up. I wanted you to fight, I wanted you to yell at me, tell me that you loved me, tell me that I'd regret it. I regret it. I still love you."

Right? Eventually there will be an e-mail like that?

I'm turning off my spam filter.

[ Who - Whom - Old - Host ]
spambots