< > [ Beginning - End - Random - Notes - Email ]
2006-07-10 - 7:00 a.m.

I have a thing for girls with lisps.

Natural selection has failed me. My gene's self-interest solely in their own propagation should make me attracted to the perfect woman. A woman with no flaws. I'm supposed to want to mate with a woman who will give me sturdy offspring.

Somewhere in my brain the accumulation of five-hundred "civilized" generations makes me attracted to women who are one step less than perfect. A cute blond girl, smart and fit, is what my genes should be screaming at me to go after. But there's two-hundred million cute blond girls, smart and fit, who I couldn't care less about.

It's those distinctive faults that stand out and draw me in. Especially when it's something overcome, and in that overcoming becomes too strong. Something that two-hundred million girls live their daily lives not worrying about, so their naturalness is less attractive to me than an unnatural perfection.

I guess natural selection hasn't failed me. I'm designed to want to mate with girls with a strong force of will. Those girls who have something to prove, and instead of letting it be a hinderance can beat it. Survival of the fittest isn't just a physical trait. When you're talking about humans, the "thinking" mammal, it's much more so a mental trait, and I guess my genes can recognize that.

[ Who - Whom - Old - Host ]
meredith, tegan, hannah