< > [ Beginning - End - Random - Notes - Email ]
2006-03-19 - 11:12 a.m.

Back in the sixth grade, one of the rumors that the cool kids spread around was about an abandoned factory here in town. They told stories of homicidal vagrants, stringing little kids from the rafters with chicken-wire. Human blood, splattered on the floor, made the factory smell like a slaughterhouse.. or so they said.

I've always held that picture in the back of my mind, as it seemed like a nice adventure.

So when I'm bored on an overcast Saturday night, I remember the derelict factory, and get in my car. It starts raining softly as I'm driving there.. not enough to make the roads slick, but enough to force the use of windshield-wipers. As I get closer to my destination I can see the top of the building towering above the surrounding areas, and it looks as menacing as the image I've held in my mind all these years.

Once I'm actually there, it seems like every other abandoned building I've been too, just with a more intimidating backstory. As I start walking closer to a back wall the rain starts pounding down, no longer merely a drizzle. I pull my sweatshirt in closer and reach for the doorhandle.. and right out of a movie, the lightning and thunder crack right above me, the very instant my flesh touches the bare metal.

The door: locked. I walk around the crumbling brick wall, checking every door I come across. The heavy rain means my pursuit for entry is no longer idle curiosity, but more a direct quest for my own safety and comfort, although I cannot be assured that either of these things can be obtained inside.

[ Who - Whom - Old - Host ]
the beginning of my night last night