< > [ Beginning - End - Random - Notes - Email ]
2006-06-17 - 2:22 p.m.

(Archimedes)
Pi --> Egypt
Fall->SAYING
NO memory
Early Johnny cash

-----------------

Those words are barely legible in black ink on my left forearm. Yesterday morning Ashley sent me an IM saying "Let's hang out!"

I had (have) no money, so we got terribly lost driving around when she took us to Loveland to treat me to "An Inconvenient Truth" - Al Gore's PowerPoint documentary on global warming. I liked it.

After the movie, driving back to Longmont, she asked if I wanted to get drunk at her house with some of her friends. I considered my most recent Friday night adventures and how they involved me attempting to find a forest to get lost in, and decided that getting drunk was a welcome change.

Hanging out at her house later, Rick and Jeff show up. After we all get introduced it's time to sit on the back porch talking and drink some Sparks. Rick says he's going to a party in Fort Collins, and because we are young twenty-somethings in the suburbs of Denver, an anonymous party is the best plan we can think of.

Get to this party and Ashley is the only girl there - not something I'm used to.
Have a couple shots of Jim Beam.
Walk to Taco Bell with Jeff, Ashley, and new kid Jon.
Jeff keeps asking if anyone can get him some heroin.
Go back to the party, some girls that I've known since middle school are there.
Jon says his house is just down the street, and he has a hookah.
We go.

Jon has "The Joy of Pi", which I start reading in the thin strip of light from the streetlamp. It's very interesting to me, because I love anything mathematical. I smoke the most out of anyone, which would shock those back in Helena. I get halfway through the book before we get up to go inside. I give it back to Jon and step towards the inside of his apartment -- Next thing I know I'm kneeling on the floor. During this blackout I have traveled back in time to ancient Egypt, studying under Archimedes the theory of Pi in the great pyramids. My vision trails slowly back in from darkness. I can barely tell between black and white figures, movement is the only thing that catches my eye. I'm staring at somebody that I know is a person, but it takes me twenty seconds to fully comprehend who it is.

The next hour is like I'm reliving a dream.. you know that feeling. It's happening, but I can't be sure it's happening here and now, in the present. "Maybe I'm just imagining this" is what I keep thinking, because everything from before five seconds ago seems like a distant memory. I start writing on my arm, and somebody next to me asks what I'm doing and I tell them "I'm not sure I'll remember any of this tomorrow, so I need to make sure." He tells me that's probably a really good idea.

Five minutes later I look down at my arm, straining to read the scribbles. I think back to eighth grade when my science teacher told the class that in a dream you can't actually read words, even though you can comprehend the meaning of text. "Maybe this is really a dream" is what races through my brain every time anybody says something.

Rick drives us back to Ashley's house. He's drunk. On the way I realize that I don't hate Johnny Cash songs, I just hate his later music. In Ashley's downstairs Jeff lies down on one of the couches and Ashley and Rick sit on the other one, and I get angry inside that I have to sit on an office chair. Eventually there is sleep. And then waking. And I smell. And then home.

I edited this three days later, because the first time I wrote it I think I was still drunk.

[ Who - Whom - Old - Host ]
-