< > [ Beginning - End - Random - Notes - Email ]
2006-05-13 - 7:16 a.m.

Yesterday I had an interview on the twenty-seventh floor of the second tallest building in Denver. Before I went in, the lady sent me a link to an 'assessment' test, pretty much just an iq test where she gets to see the results. I took the test, and one hour later I was in a corner office of that building answering questions about what I liked best about college.

She started out by saying, "Let me start out by saying, your test score was perfect. You didn't get a single answer wrong." And she then proceeded to ask me about the fake job descriptions I put down on my resume. Sure, I was the event coordinator for a weekly city-sponsored concert. I learned a lot about leadership from that one. Sure.

From there, she said "These references, Meaghan, Kim, Joan, they all know your work well enough to vouch for you?" Smile and nod, on the twenty-seventh floor, because the phone numbers I've written down are all fake. Sure, go ahead and call a wrong number. I don't need your $30,000.00 job.

At the end of the interview she told me "I think you're very smart. I think you would be very able to do this job. I don't think you would fit in with our crew though. You're too.. introverted and distracted." When you're on the twenty-seventh floor of a building that you stare up at in the middle of the night, and now you're staring out of huge windows at millions of cars glinting in the noon sunlight, it's hard not to be distracted.

[ Who - Whom - Old - Host ]
another failed interview