< > [ Beginning - End - Random - Notes - Email ]
2006-04-21 - 4:09 p.m.

I really need to stop this.

I started this job on tuesday. Today is friday and I hate that place. One week of working there seems like ten years. When I started, the boss said "After four weeks of working here, you'll get a $1 raise."

When you work at a table buffing pieces of wood, you inhale all those little bits of clear lacquer, and your fingers get little callouses, and your clothes and hair get little specks of white shit in them. There's a guy working there who is 22 but looks 37, this is part of why I say one week of working there seems like ten years. But in four weeks, I will get a raise.

Today during lunch I figured out that if I take a left and keep following it, it will take me to pearl street. That's why I took a three hour lunch. When I got back, he was more disappointed than angry. "It's only your first week, and you're already taking extended lunches!"

That's when I quit. Because it was only my first week. And when the first week seems like ten years, four weeks is a lifetime.

I suck at jobs.

[ Who - Whom - Old - Host ]
-