< > [ Beginning - End - Random - Notes - Email ]
2009-06-07 - 1:55 p.m.

Oh my car, oh my best-of-Rilo Kiley CD, how I've missed you!

So, approximately a week after I left the first place I have decided that I am not a big highway-bike-rider and that I am quitting.

Here is a list of things offered me in the 24 hours after my decision:

Two (2) jobs.
Drinks.
Pre-paid legal services card.
Subway sandwich.
Collaboration on comic book. (?!)
Total of $218.
Small blue pill.
Vaseline. (Actually much needed, for my lips)

-------------

I have always had a problem with eye contact. I can remember back in middle school when I would have to tell people to go on and keep talking, because they would stop, waiting for me to recognize them, while I was doing something else as they tried to talk to me. I never made the connection between my ears and my eyes. I can hear you just fine, why would I look at you?

One day I was talking to a girl while walking down the hall in school and she says sharply, "Matt! Eye contact!" - Which is even more odd to me, considering we were walking side-by-side.

Now I make a lot of eye contact, in fact I am always looking into peoples eyes. Even as I type this I keep glancing up as people pass to meet their looks. Sometimes I think it is awkward, when I am in a place and somebody thinks I am staring at them because every time they look at me I look back, or they think something similar.

-------------

I rode a train back down from Santa Barbara to San Diego. On the way I met a nice young black man. He was sitting near me and kept getting up to walk around and I would (naturally, see above) make eye contact with him each time. After a few times he came up to me and introduced himself. He seemed very nice despite apparently having the affliction of being a close-talker. He told me that he had seen me looking at him, and let me know where he had grown up. I am not sure why he chose to be so specific with the location, down to the cross-streets within the town (of Long Beach) but he did anyways. He then invited me to do something, or buy something, or.. I don't really know. He used vernacular that I am not familiar with but I think I caught the word 'fade' so maybe he was referring to the fact that my hair has been getting long. I politely declined, noting that we were getting off on separate stops, and he decided to go back to his seat.

------

Q: Which tv character are you most like?

A: Jess Mariano off Gilmore Girls. I am not sure if it is just a remarkable coincidence, or if I subconsciously molded my personality towards his for whatever reason, but it's definitely Jess.

I was partly reminded of this back on Friday night (Saturday morning) -- I answer questions too literally and/or too vague. The first encounters Jess has with Rory she asks him if he reads and he says, "Not much." Later when it's revealed he actually reads quite a bit and Rory questions him about that statement he says, "Well, what is much?" Giving the wrong impression, intentionally or unintentionally, just comes naturally. There are some billions of people in this world who go to bed starving and cold in disease-ridden locations without hope for the future. So yeah, I think I'll be okay if I'm sleeping with a full belly on a park bench in Santa Barbara, California.

[ Who - Whom - Old - Host ]
-