< > [ Beginning - End - Random - Notes - Email ]
2008-07-30 - 11:34 p.m.

Wednesday July 30th, 2008

1:24AM - I am starting this log now. It will most definitely not be written in real time, like somebody taking notes into a tape recorder. It probably won't even be well written or verbose. Probably it will be something like "1:26AM-?? - Fell asleep sometime in here."

1:26AM-?? - Fell asleep sometime in here, the dulcet tones of the collected works of Jenny Lewis lulling me into a hopefully pleasant sleep. I say hopefully because I'm writing this before I actually do such a thing, and because recently my dreams have been quite vivid and numerous and at times very raunchy.

1:37 - Turn back to computer to type '1972 presidential election' into google.

6:08 - "And lo' and behold a strange tree and it shall be called ??" - I was reciting a strange poem in my dreams when I woke up this first time. I see two e-mails in my gmail, but know that if I start reading them I'll never get back to sleep.

8:23 - Next time I wake up I was having a dream about giving five arguments to shut down a door-to-door general contractor who wants to fix dream problems with the house.

10:24 - Wake up for real. The dream this time? Sitting in my car, looking across a parking lot at a line of cars going through a drive-thru. What kind? A library drive-thru. Really. I say "You can do this" a bunch to myself, because apparently something is scary about going through there or I am going to do something untoward. Soon I am at the counter, and am too embarrassed to ask for what I want, when real me has no clue what it is. Dream me sees a book that looks like what he wants, on the counter (Oh, also, the counter is on the right side of the car and I'm right there with it. Apparently I'm in Botswana checking out books.) So dream me sees a book looking like what he wants, bends his arm around and snags it. Apparently it's an Alice in Wonderland cliff notes type book. It's not what I wanted, but before I can explain to the woman she runs inside to see if they have the big book. I rationalize to myself about how it's actually a good story. Adventure and talking animals and all that rot. Eventually she comes back and gives me a bag with three or so books in it and I drive away. I'm supposed to get to a specific place. I know the general directions, so I try driving but keep going around in circles, so I call somebody. The directions they give me are: "Take ?street? straight into a dead end. Turn around and take the first right. Go straight into a dead end. Turn around and take the first right. Go straight into a dead end. Turn around and take the first right. Then go left." -- Even in a dream this doesn't make sense to me, so I park the car in the library parking lot and try to make some logic out of it. Close my dream eyes and visualize a street map -- trace my finger along the first street, and suddenly the image shifts. No longer am I watching from behind dream me's eyes, but I'm a third person, a cameraman watching as a different twenty-something man pulls up into this dead-end in a black '80s cadillac. He gets out wearing a suit with a bright white security-ear-wire-thing. Goes to a house, finds Harrison Ford, who apparently is FBI or CIA but has been retired. The young man introduces himself and gives him some sort of information that causes Mr. Ford to go back in the house and suit up. As he is inside the house, we are given reason to believe that this young man does not in fact work for the agency that he claims. He's got a communicator in his watch, despite having the wire behind his ear, and when HF is in the house the watch gives a strange name, in a casual young man's voice, but when HF appears the voice changes to be very professional. They get into the car, and the dream ends.

Six e-mails, delete them all. Check everything, including FacebookMyspaceComicsCrimeblotterDiaryland and SLTT

10:57-11:16 - *Private bathroom time. Involves a towel or two and making sure to wash my knees.*

11:16 - Make smores poptarts. This week is the first week since high-school that I've had poptarts.

11:20 - Change filter in ceiling in hallway, whilst eating poptarts.

--11:43 - Just wasted twenty minutes on random internet things. Stupid internet.

11:43AM-12:43PM - This hour was really boring. Sat outside and also teased a dog and also tried drawing a goblin and also read a little bit of shakespeare and also almost did laundry. All while listening to Tilly and the Wall.

12:44-12:52 - Got dressed.

1:00ish-3:00ish - Went to coffee shop to flirt with baristas and eat piece of cakebread.

~3:10 - Checked mail. Nothing good for the past nineteen out of twenty days. :(

3:27 - Went into the desert with high hopes. Starting to feel like Shia LaBeouf in that movie with Sigourney Weaver and all the holes.

5:26 - Got back, empty-handed.

5:27 - Got undressed.

5:28 - Checked internet.

5:29-6:20 - Lay on floor.

6:21 - Naked smoothie.

~6:30 - Watched the movie Stuck. It is pretty gross. There is a man who gets hit by a car, it breaks his leg and the bone is sticking out and he gets tied up and while he's lying there a small dog comes up and starts gnawing on the bone.

7:52-8:25 - Cooked perogies.

8:26-8:48 - I am eating perogies and playing internet riddle games. One such game led me to researching Humpty Dumpty, which led to me finding an excerpt from Through the Looking Glass (Alice in Wonderland). Combined with the dream from last night, I now really want to read the story. I think I have it around here somewhere.

8:48-8:58 - Searched in vain. This is absurd. How can I have Hans Brinker and the Silver Skates and not a freaking Alice book?

8:59 - Just found this site which has the complete texts. Tonight is going to be less interesting, because I am going to be reading this. If you want interesting, you should read it too. It's good stuff.

Later - Yes, good stuff indeed.

[ Who - Whom - Old - Host ]
giving it a little kiss to make it understand that it was in disgrace