< > [ Beginning - End - Random - Notes - Email ]
2008-07-23 - 11:46 p.m.

I wasn't even going to go down this road, until I saw the large neon(?) sign saying Welcome!

"Hey.. excuse me.. do you have a badge?"

"Uh, no."

"Then you can't go in there."

"The sign says 'Welcome!' .. Why is it welcoming me in if I'm not, you know.. welcome?"

This, after I had already found their recreational club center place. Baseball fields, tennis courts, a basketball court, horseshoe pits, barbecue stands, and a walking path with those exercise stands every so often. Every new thing I discover I say to myself, "What the fuck is this place?" There's large jackrabbits hopping all about, and little lizards scurrying on their hind-legs, and big lizards just gazing at me, and no person anywhere that I can find.

OH! And an archery course! Back behind one of the baseball fields, there's a little flag you run up a pole so people don't go wandering around while you're shooting things at straw targets. Fourteen targets, on a path. I came out here looking for an abandoned truck full of marijuana, and I find some sort of desert oasis. Just now, I found it easily on google maps, and wonder how I could have missed it before.

Anyways, after leaving that place, I follow a road down, see a turnoff, have the above conversation, and then continue on. What this crack security team apparently fails to realize is that there are literally ten other entrances to this place, none of which have guards posted. Two guards at this one entrance, just to keep out the lazy trespassers.

Once I'm in, that's it. I get nods from people, dude smiles at me, lady talking on her cell phone just watching. No big deal.

Apparently, this place is "one of the nation's premier research and development facilities."

No shit? All I noticed is that they have a very large cafeteria with comfortable looking booths.

[ Who - Whom - Old - Host ]
lukewarm days of a discontented man